dissertation research

The Sexualities Project at Northwestern (SPAN) awards dissertation fellowships of one, two, or three quarters in length to Northwestern doctoral students through an annual competitive process. Awards are made by a faculty committee. For information on upcoming calls for applications, click here.

By Year: 2017-18 | 2016-17 | 2015-16 | 2014-15 | 2013-14 | 2012-13 | 2011-12 | 2010-11


2017-18

V Chaudhry V Chaudhry (Anthropology)
vinitachaudhry@gmail.com
Dissertation adviser: Shalini Shankar
“The Price of Transgender Justice: Funding, Advocacy, and Racial Politics in Philadelphia, PA”
Eddie Gamboa Eddie Gamboa (Performance Studies)
eddiegamboa2018@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Ramon Rivera-Servera
“Sex Tech(s): Pleasure, Performance, Pedagogy in the Age of Geo-location”
Rae Langes Rae Langes (Performance Studies)
rlanges@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Mary Weismantel
“Performing Monstrosity: Queer and Transgender Tactics of Resistance in Twenty-first Century United States”
Whitney Pow Whitney Pow (RTVF / Screen Cultures)
whitneypow@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Lynn Spigel
“Illegible Subjects: A Phenomenology of the Other in Queer Software Studies”

2016-17

Ivan Bujan Ivan Bujan (Performance Studies)
ibujan@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Joshua Chambers-Letson
“The Ecstasy of Sexual Abjection: Performance and Queer World Making”
Mollie McQuillan Mollie McQuillan (Human Development and Social Policy)
molliem@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Diane Schanzenbach
“Transitions: Pubertal Medical Treatment, Social Interactions, and Immune Response for Two Cohorts of Gender Dysphoric Youth”
Lital Pascar Lital Pascar (Rhetoric and Public Culture)
litalpascar2017@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Janice Radway
“‘A New, Revolutionary Way to Love’: contemporary discourses about (non)monogamy”

2015-16

Stefan Vogler Stefan Vogler (Sociology)
Svogler@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Steve Epstein
“Civic Epistemologies of Sex: How the U.S. State Adjudicates Sexual Rights”

2014-15

Meiver de la Cruz Meiver de la Cruz (Performance Studies)
Meiver@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Susan Manning
“Economies of Authenticity: Belly Dance and Post-9/11 Nationalism in the United States”
Beth Hartman Beth Hartman (Anthropology)
Bethhartman@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Micaela de Leonardo
“Hearing the Dance: An Ethnographic and Ethnomusicological Study of Stripping in the Midwestern US”

2013-14

Elizabeth Rodriguez Elizabeth Rodriguez (English)
Elizabeth.rodriguez@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Wendy Wall
“Consensual Relations: Sexual and Political Subjectivity in England, 1550-1700”
Leigh Goldstein Leigh Goldstein (Screen Cultures/ Gender & Sexuality Studies)
Leighgoldstein2014@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Lynn Spigel
“Special for Women: Television and Feminist Activism in the Postwar US”
Ari Shaw Ari Shaw (Political Science)
Arishaw2013@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Karen Alter
“Claiming International Rights: Human Rights Mobilization and Domestic Change”

2012-13

Tera Agyepong Tera Agyepong (African American Studies/Law)
tera@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Martha Biondi
“Boundaries of Innocence: Race, Sex, and the Criminalization of Black Children in Chicago’s Juvenile Justice System, 1893-1950”
Kareem Khubchandani Kareem Khubchandani (Performance Studies)
kareem.khubchandani@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: E. Patrick Johnson
“Ishtyle: Queer South Asian Performance Across Borders”
Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson (History)
alexslg@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Alex Owen
“Unintended Consequences: The Productive Potential of British Regulation of Sex and Race in India, 1858-1914”

2011-12

Jeffrey Kosbie Jeffrey Kosbie (Sociology/Law)
j-kosbie@nlaw.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Laura Beth Nielsen
“The Role of LGBT Legal Organizations in a Social Movement Field”

2010-11

Theo Greene Theo Greene (Sociology)
t-greene@northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Albert Hunter
“Not in My Gayborhood: Sexual Identity, Sexual Orientation, and the Politics of Place”
Angela Maione Angela Maione (Political Science/Gender & Sexuality Studies)
angelamaione@u.northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Linda Zerilli
“Wollstonecraft’s Revolutionary World Republicanism”
Gregory Mitchell Gregory Mitchell (Performance Studies/Gender & Sexuality Studies)
gcmitchell@gmail.com
Dissertation adviser: E. Patrick Johnson”
Packaging Desire: Commissioning Performances of Racialized Masculinity in Brazil’s Gay Sex Tourist Industry”
Melissa Minor Peters  Melissa Minor Peters (Anthropology/Masters in Public Health)
m-minor@northwestern.edu
Dissertation adviser: Karen Tranberg Hansen
“Gender Variance, Stigma, and Economy in Kampala, Uganda”

Comments are closed